The Holy Father John Paul II has raised the Apostolic Prefecture of Tierradentro to the rank of Apostolic Vicariate, with the same denomination and territorial configuration. Moreover, His Holiness has named Fr. Jorge García Isaza, C.M. as the first Apostolic Vicar of Tierradentro (Colombia), assigning him the Episcopal See of Budua. Until now, Fr. García was Apostolic Prefect of the same Ecclesiastical Circumscription.

(L'Osservatore Romano, February 27, 2000, p. 1)

The Holy Father John Paul II has named Fr. Cristoforo Palmieri, C.M. Apostolic Administrator of Rrëshen (Albania). Up to the present, he was Diocesan Administrator of this same diocese.

(L'Osservatore Romano, March 6-7, 2000, p. 1)

The Holy Father John Paul II has named Fr. Anton Stres, C.M. Auxiliary Bishop of Maribor in Slovenia, assigning to him the titular episcopal see of Ptuj. Up to the present, Fr. Stres has been dean of the Theology Faculty of Ljubljana.

(L'Osservatore Romano, May 14, 2000, p. 2)


On 1 July 2000, in the presence of the Holy Father, was promulgated the decree regarding the heroic virtues of the Servant of God, Marco Antonio Durando, priest of the Congregation of the Mission of St. Vincent de Paul and Founder of the Institute of the Sisters of Jesus of Nazareth, born on 22 May 1801 at Mondovì (Italy) and died on 10 December 1880 at Turin (Italy).

(L'Osservatore Romano, July 2, 2000, p. 1)


The Holy Father John Paul II wrote to His Excellency Gaston Poulain, Bishop of Périgueux and Sarlat, a letter dated September 8, on the occasion of the fourth centenary of the priestly ordination of St. Vincent De Paul.

(L'Osservatore Romano, September 20, 2000, p. 6)

Copyright 2009 Congregation of the Mission